Available Only in the Library at Information and Research computers

E-Star - the online edition of The Kansas City Star.

Five Civilized Tribes Online - includes information on the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek and Seminole tribes. read more

Genealogy.com - includes the Genealogy Library, International and Passenger Records, 1900 Census images and the World Family Tree Collection. read more

Genline - Genline's Swedish Church Records archive consists of photographic quality images scanned from microfilm of the original church records from the National Archives in Stockholm, dating from the 16th century. read more

NewEnglandAncestors.org - The New England Historic Genealogy Society offers the largest body of documented data on New England families anywhere. read more

Polk Directories Database - The online version of the popular print directories. May be searched by address, phone number, name, type of business, etc. read more

Rosetta Stone Online Language Learning Center - an interactive learning program that teaches languages through reading, listening, writing and speaking. read more

Wichita Eagle E-Edition - the online version of The Wichita Eagle.

Available Only in the Library at any Internet access computer

All Data Pro - A comprehensive database of automobile diagnostic, repair and maintenance information. read more

Ancestry Library Edition - Instant access to a wide range of unique resources for genealogical and historical research. read more

Foundation Directory Online Professional - The Foundation Center's online database features a comprehensive listing of active U.S. foundations and corporate giving programs and their associated grants. read more

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online - An online database of more than 6,000 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers and other individual grantseekers. read more

NewspaperARCHIVE.com - A searchable collection of newspaper pages dating back to the 1700s.  Includes nearly 80 million pages with 2 million being added each month.  Indexes the Salina Journal from 1951 through 1977.

Available on the Web

Bartleby.com - Provides free online access to a variety of reference sources and other books.

Directory of Open Access Journals - Provides access to free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.

E-Eagle - the online version of The Wichita Eagle.

ERIC - The Educational Resources Information Database includes more than 1.2 million citations going back to 1966 and more than 115,000 full-text mostly non-journal and book materials in PDF format.

HURISEARCH - Access to human rights information published by human rights organizations worldwide.

Information Please Almanac - Free Web-based version of the print almanac.

Kansas Library Catalog - A catalog of books and other materials owned by Kansas Libraries.

Medline Plus - The National Library of Medicine's consumer health site includes health topics, drug information, medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, directories of doctors, dentists, and hospitals.

New York Times Archives - search The New York Times for articles from 1851 to the present.  Full text articles from 1851-1922 and 1987 to the present may be accessed for free.

Old Car Manual Project - Access manuals and brochures for older cars that have been submitted by the public. Includes manuals for carburetor's, transmissions and wiring diagrams.

Old Farmer's Almanac - Online version of the classic print almanac.

Project Gutenberg - A collection of more than 20,000 electronic books (eBooks or etexts) that are in the public domain in the United States and may be freely downloaded and read, and redistributed for non-commercial use.

PubMed - Free Web-based version of Medline provides citations to journal articles in medicine and the health sciences.

PubMed Central - The US National Library of Medicine's free digital archive of life sciences journal literature.

Wikipedia - a free encylcopedia that anyone can edit.

FAQ

Q: What kind of information is in a database?
A: The library provides access to databases that contain a variety of types of information. The types of information available include magazine and newspaper articles; genealogy information; directory and business information; legal forms; practice tests; electronic books; downloadable audio books and music; and even foreign language learning programs.

More FAQs

Available in the library or from home

LearnATest - This interactive online database features more than 300 practice tests based on official school and career exams. read more

Available in the library or from home using a Salina Public Library Card

EBSCOhost Databases - Includes EBSCO Research Databases, Searchasaurus (elementary school), Kids Search (middle and elementary school) and Student Research Center (high school and middle scchool).

Gale/Cengage - Provides access to thousands of citations and many full text articles in scholarly journals, business and trade journals, and other news sources.  Includes the Chilton Online Auto Repair Database.

Gale Legal Forms - Provides a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms across the most popular legal areas. read more

NoveList Plus - Shows you all the books by a favorite author, read-alikes for more than 200 popular authors, similar titles to books you like. You can also search for books by describing the kinds of stories you like to read. It also has hundreds of theme-oriented book lists.  Includes both fiction and narrative non-fiction titles.

Reference USA - A business database that gives corporate ownership and addresses accessible through SIC code, location, size, etc. read more

Small Engine Repair Reference Center - Contains 407 reference books on all types of small engines, from ATVs to farm tractors to snowblowers. The books are full text with original photos and illustrations to guide you through any repair.

Available in the library or from home using a Kansas Library Card

The following databases are available in the library or from home with a Kansas Library Card (free to all Kansas residents). To sign up for a Kansas Library Card, contact the Information and Research Desk at 825-4624.

HomeworkKansas.org - free online homework help for grades 4 through pre-college. Available 4 p.m. to 11 p.m. daily in English or 4 p.m. to 9 p.m. Sunday through Thursday in Spanish.

The State Library of Kansas and KAN_ED co-sponsor these databases:

Audio books, music & more! - Digital Audio Books and Digital Music for your enjoyment. Requires a Kansas Library Card for checkout.

WorldCat - Search the collections of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide.

NetLibrary - Access to more than 12,000 e-books for those who have already created a NetLibrary account through the Kansas Library Card Web site.

ProQuest Nursing Journals - Full text journals, evidence based resources, and dissertations to support the study of nursing and the allied health profession.

EBSCOhost Research Databases - Resources for all kinds of research.

Kids Search - Resources for elementary and middle school students.

Student Research Center - Resources for middle and high school students.

¡Informe! (Revistas en Español) - Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.

Heritage Quest Online - A genealogy daabase including U.S. Federal Census data (1790-1930) and much more.

Literature Resource Center - Includes author biographies, literary essays, overviews, plots, criticism and critical essays on poetry, children's literature, classical and medieval works, plus much more.

Custom Newspapers - A full text database of over 160 US newspapers and English language foreign papers.

World Book Online Reference Center - Includes every article in the 22-volume print edition and much more.